Gold Powers to First Win of 2017

Photo by John Virgen.

NAPA, Calif. – Sacramento Gold FC earned its first win of the 2017 NPSL season, topping the Golden Gate Conference newcomers Napa Valley 1839 2-0 Saturday at Memorial Stadium.

Roberto Mendoza and Sammy Gonzalez provided Sacramento's scores, while goalkeeper Philip Bru was named Man of the Match for his work in shutting out the home team.

It didn't look this would be the case early on, with Napa maintaining a decisive edge in possession for the first 15 minutes. However, the Gold would turn the tide of the game in the 17th minute. Matthew Wiesenfarth whipped in a cross into the box, where Mendoza tapped it into the left side of the goal and gave the Gold a 1-0 lead.

Sacramento had a couple of chances to widen its lead. First, a shot that seemed destined for the back of the net was knocked away off the line by a Napa defender. Then, in the second half, a header by Mendoza was deflected off the crossbar.

The waves kept crashing, until the Gold finally got a second in the 69th minute. Danny Cuevas picked the pocket of a Napa player, then found Weisenfarth, who crossed it to Gonzalez. Gonzalez buried it into the back of the net to make it 2-0.

Napa fought to cut into the lead, with several changes in the last ten minutes. But, Bru and the Gold efense were up to the task, stopping every threat they faced.

Sacramento will stay on the road for a Sunday afternoon showdown with CD Aguiluchos USA on April 9. The action will get started from Burrell Field at 2 p.m.


Sacramento Gold FC: G Philip Bru, D Fernando De Alba (Bradley Burkhart 63'), Zach Ulrich, Selvin Bonilla, Erick Vega (Evan Alvarez 76'), M Danny Lomeli, Danny Cuevas (Anthony Herrera 73’), Jose Martinez, Roberto Mendoza (Sammy Gonzalez 56'), F Nate Nugen (Ivan Gutierrez 45'), Matt Wiesenfarth

Napa Valley 1839: G Roberto Llamas, D Armando Castro, Juan Acosta, Adrian Maldonado, Kyle Gavce (Arnuflo Garcia 53'), M Shawn Aguigui (Francisco Arreola 37'), Victor Calderon, Francisco Mendoza (Osvaldo Vazquez 75'), Saiaz Saenz, Andrew Carlile, F Bryan Marin


SAC – Roberto Mendoza (Matt Wiesenfarth) 17'

SAC – Sammy Gonzalez (Matt Wiesenfarth) 69'


NAP – Bryan Marin 52’

NAP – Armando Castro 62’


SAC– G Philip Bru

Photo by John Virgen.